Crown chakra

You don’t have to be a Reiki practitioner to take care of your energy body, which is comprised of meridians and chakras.  Meridians are the energy pathways that pass through at least one vital organ and help that organ’s functionality in some way.  Chakras are referred to as “energy centers.”  Today we will talk about the seventh or CROWN CHAKRA. 

The bottom three chakras (root, sacrum, and solar plexus) help us with grounding. It is important for our feet to be firmly planted in safety and individual responsibility. The idea of being a unique individual is valued in our society. Our solar plexus relishes in the idea of individuality. However, the human race has become lonelier and looking to remember an interconnectedness that has existed before individual preferences and will exist long after. The crown chakra connects us to a spiritual sense beyond the illusion of a separate entity. We are actually spiritual beings having a human experience! Therefore, our energy body is designed to help us access our spiritual center, which plugs into a larger presence of divinity and Oneness. I utilize many terms in my psychotherapy practice that describe the essence of the crown chakra. My favorite is Dialectical Behavioral Therapy’s concept of “wise-mind.” Spiritual seekers often utilize terms such as inner light, Spirit, Buddha Nature, or God within. 

When a person’s crown chakra is balanced, they might experience a sense of mystical Oneness with others, nature, and a higher spiritual realm. These moments can be fleeting, but powerful. Do not underestimate how even average moments of clarity and inter-connectedness may reflect active energies within this chakra, such as watching a bird in your feeder or feeling the warmth of sunshine on your face as you walk. Another clue of opening within the crown is a wave of calm, peace, and trust in a higher meaning or purpose. Meditation practice, music, prayer, and ritual are potent ways to deepen awareness to a spiritual connection with the cosmos. I personally love Kirtan or Sanskrit chants.

Click here for an example:

The stone, Amethyst, corresponds to the Crown and signifies healing and peace. Below are examples of affirmations that may help you better connect to your Crown chakra. Affirmations help to re-program our nervous system, but only if we find strategies to repeat them often, especially in times of distress.

  • I am part of the Divine.
  • I honor the Divine within me.
  • I seek to understand & learn from my life experiences.
  • I can let go of self-limiting beliefs.
  • I cherish my spirit.
  • I trust my intuition.
  • I am open to letting go of my judgments or attachments.
  • I challenge myself to see the bigger picture.
  • I am connected to the wisdom of the universe.
  • My life moves with grace.
  • I am at peace.
  • All is well.

We have now discussed all seven chakras in sequence! I hope this blog series was useful. Please post in the comments below if you are interested in receiving a formal Reiki treatment to help assist in the balancing of your chakras to support your energy body.