Solar plexus chakra

You don’t have to be a Reiki practitioner to take care of your energy body, which is comprised of meridians and chakras.  Meridians are the energy pathways that pass through at least one vital organ and help that organ’s functionality in some way.  Chakras are referred to as “energy centers.”  Today we will talk about the third or SOLAR PLEXUS CHAKRA.  This specific blog series will continue every other month until we have discussed all the seven chakras in sequence. 

The solar plexus chakra is below the chest and rests upon the diaphragm, associated with the liver, stomach, digestive system, adrenal glands, and lungs. This chakra pertains to how we digest food and other types of external stimuli or energies.  When we can process input in a healthy way, we integrate our experiences into a stable sense of identity or Ego.  This is who we are, want to be, and how we hope to be seen by others.  The solar plexus is sometimes referred to as the “power chakra” because of its strong assertion of identity.  It also governs more organs than any other chakra.  In addition to digestion, it contains a filtering system that detects toxins in the bloodstream, including perceived threat or cues of safety.  The adrenal glands work as an alarm system that trigger an adrenaline rush when we perceive danger, which facilitates mobilization within the nervous systems’ “flight or fight” response.  People most commonly feel a sense of anxiety in this area of the body to include disrupted breath when the body is victim of a stress response.  Imbalance in the chakra can also be reflected by intrusive thoughts, poor sense of self-worth and pervasive fears of failure that may lead to perfectionism or grand gestures to facilitate approval.  People may also find themselves “playing small” for fear of experiencing a threatening relational experience (i.e. rejection). 

As we reflect upon the organs and their functions within this region of the body, it shouldn’t be a surprise to know that the solar plexus chakra is heavily impacted by our environment and day-to-day experiences.  Parental messages and societal expectations are encoded here, resulting in how we show up in the world.  Our western culture places an over-emphasis upon this chakra.  We praise outward Ego-driven success and behavior that closely aligns with cultural norms.  While the sacral chakra is playful, spontaneous and free, the solar plexus is more logical, analytical, and rigid in its presentation.  The solar plexus chakra is attached to expectations, roles, and responsibilities that we can over-identify with and mistake as the essence of who we are.  However, the individuality and focus upon wants and desires is nevertheless valuable and do play a role in our spiritual ascension.  

When you have a healthy and balanced solar plexus chakra, you will feel confident, self-assured, and relatively focused upon your dreams and desires.  Learning to develop Self-trust takes time and patience.  I invite you to start in these ways: practice validating your emotional responses as inherently valid, recognize and celebrate personal decisions or behavior that align with your values, and participate in social experiences that create a sense of belonging.  Slow down the Ego’s racing thoughts or external distractions by trying a Hatha, Yin Yoga or restorative class.  Take time to focus upon the breath and learn how to observe internal preoccupation as stories from previously encoded messages that may no longer be accurate.  Try incorporating yellow into your wardrobe or diet (squash, corn, sweet potatoes, lemons, golden apples). Lentils, rice, and spelt can also be nourishing for the digestive tract.

Solar plexus chakra mantras:

I choose.

I intend.

I will.